Family rejection, threats follow anti-gay Ugandan law

24 Mar

76crimes blog

Image

Clare Byarugaba in Los Angeles (Photo by Joe Kohen courtesy of The Daily Beast)

The passage and signing of Uganda’s anti-gay law have caused immediate turmoil in the lives of the country’s LGBT people, even though it has not officially taken effect, Ugandan activist Clare Byarugaba told a gathering in Los Angeles earlier this month.

“As a lesbian living in Uganda, it has been very difficult,” Byarugaba told the Women in the World luncheon, organized by celebrity editor Tina Brown. “My mom said, ‘I’m going to hand you in to police.’ What that means is corrective rape. That I can’t see my family anymore. I have received so many death threats. And now I’m facing seven years to life imprisonment simply because of the work I’m doing -— and because of my sexual orientation.”

An account of her speech appeared in Brown’s The Daily Beast, of which she is editor-in-chief.

Story;

Family rejection, threats follow anti-gay Ugandan law

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2014/03/15/at-women-in-the-world-the-reality-of-uganda-s-brutal-gay-ban.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

